My Choice To Marry Young

If you want something to last forever, you treat it differently. You shield it and protect it. You never abuse it.  You don’t expose it to the elements. You don’t make it common or ordinary. If it Ever becomes tarnished, you lovingly polish it until it gleams like new. It becomes special because you have made it so, and it grows more beautiful and precious as time goes by.”  – Elder F. Burton Howard

 

Marriage at a young age, has now a days accumulated a lot of criticism. I was engaged at 19 years old, and married at 19 years old. I had family who were very supportive, but a lot that were not so much. My friends definitely  thought I was way to young to get married. They all say the same things:

” your too young, you haven’t even lived your life!”

“I married at 17 and look where we are now, you should take some advice and wait till your older!”

” Oh yeah…Your Mormon, so your only getting married so you can have sex.”

” If you marry now, its only going to end in divorce, your too young.”

“Your not thinking Logically”

” You only think your in love, your just in lust”

“Stop playing this game of house, and grow up!  You don’t love each other, you don’t even know him!”

” Your throwing away everything you’ve worked hard for.”

” What about your education?”

” Are you sure, Cause you know if you marry them, you marry there family”

The list can go on and on. Honestly I am very proud of my choice of marring my husband when I did. Yes it was fast, yes I was pretty young, and yes I loved him. We have been married for 2 years now, and when I think about it, I myself am in aw, at how my husband and I have handled all of these trials and errors together. We have been through things that most newly wedded couples wouldn’t be able to handle. If a “Normal” person,  given the opportunity, was to see into our marriage, they would ask us why we haven’t left each other. It’s actually simple. When you love someone as much as we love each other,  you don’t just give up, when a hard trial comes about, You show your support not your anger, You love not fight, you stop yourself from seeing their flaws, and you love them even more. I may be in my early twenties, but I wouldn’t ever go back and wait till I was older, I wouldn’t want to give up the wonderful blessings that have come from my marriage with my husband.

Now I’m not saying it has been easy these last two years, because it hasn’t been. There has been pain, heartache, and some betrayal. I suffer from a lot of mental issues, that has put a few hurdles for my husband to jump over, and he himself has his own trials and hurdles for me to jump as well. When you do decide to marry someone, you are making a promise to that person, to care about everything, the good, the bad, the big and the small. Everything. You don’t promise them an easy life, you don’t promise that you will be a perfect person either, But you do promise to do the very best you can to not disappoint, and to love them everyday no matter what.

Studies have even proven that YES if you marry young, you are twice as likely to get a divorce. Marriage on impulse, Your expecting unexcitingly, Your not financially ready. These things that may seem like they are hard to get over, but in all honestly if you want your marriage to work out, you can always make it through anything. down below I am sharing some links that I have read, this one goes through the Studies, and research from the benefits of marring at a young age.

http://www.artofmanliness.com/2015/07/06/the-surprising-benefits-of-marrying-young/

This next Link is from the LDS Ensign for March 2017. I read this with my husband, and if your not LDS it is still such a good read, it opens you up to a different perspective on how us “Mormons” see marriage, and the meaning it holds to us, our beliefs. now I know there may be a lot of people who may disagree with what this may entail, and that’s okay. I hope that despite what you all may disagree with, this post has helped in some way change or soften your view on the negatives about marring at a young age.

https://www.lds.org/ensign/2017/03/young-adults/delaying-marriage-the-trends-and-the-consequences?lang=eng

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

